Sale of electrical appliances and accessories

This information is for importers, manufacturers and retailers (including online retailers) of household electrical appliances and accessories.

New regulations for LED lamps

From 30 June 2018 all mains voltage (ie 240Va.c. rated) self-ballasted LED lamps must be certified, marked and approved in accordance with the Electrical Equipment Safety System before being sold in Tasmania.

Who do these changes apply to?

  • Product sellers
  • Importers
  • Wholesalers
  • Retailers
  • Contractors

What do I do with old stock?

Existing non-approved stocks held by retail and wholesale suppliers in Tasmania may be 'grandfathered' and continue to be sold until sold out.

New stock arriving in Tasmania from 30 June 2018

  • Must comply with Part 4 of the Electricity Industry Safety and Administration Act 1997

Before sale, all new electrical articles (defined in Australian Standard AS/NZS 4417.2—2012 Regulatory compliance mark for electrical and electronic equipment) must:

  • be approved
  • be marked to indicate approval and
  • comply with any relevant electrical safety standard

Read the Fact Sheet - New regulations for LED lamps (PDF, 161.3 KB)

Example of Regulatory Compliance Mark (RCM) logo Regulatory Compliance Mark (RCM)

Retailers and consumers must make sure the electrical appliance is marked, for example with the  Regulatory Compliance Mark (RCM), to indicate approval for sale.

Regulators and certifiers

If you are a manufacturer or importer of the following electrical articles you need to apply to a Government electrical regulator or private certifier for a Certificate of Approval/Compliance.

If you are a retailer, you need to ensure the electrical article is marked to indicate approval for sale.

Electrical articles required to be approved and marked

Appliances A-F Appliances G-O Appliances P-Z
  • appliance connectors
  • arc welding machines
  • battery chargers
  • bread toasters
  • building cables
  • christmas and festival lights
  • clothes dryers
  • control and conditioning devices
  • cord line switches
  • decorative lighting
  • dishwashers
  • electric blankets
  • extra low voltage power supply units
  • fans
  • fence energizers
  • flexible heating pads
  • floor polishers/scrubbers
  • fluorescent lamp ballasts and starters
  • hair dryers
  • heaters
  • hedge trimmers
  • household appliances
  • immersion heaters
  • insect electrocutor
  • inspection headlamps
  • irons
  • jugs
  • kitchen machines – bread makers, mixers
  • lampholder – bayonet, edison and adaptors
  • lawn care appliances
  • liquid heating appliances (includes rice cookers)
  • massagers
  • microwave ovens
  • miniature overcurrent circuit breakers
  • outlet devices
  • plugs
  • portable cooking appliances (includes blenders and frying pans)
  • portable lamps
  • power tools
  • pressure storage water heaters
  • projectors
  • ranges and range hoods
  • razors and hair clippers
  • refrigerators/freezers
  • residual current devices (safety switches)
  • sewing machines
  • socket outlets and adaptors
  • soldering irons
  • supply flexible cords
  • swimming pool and spa equipment
  • television receivers
  • therapeutic lamps
  • wall switches
  • washing machines
  • waterbed heaters
  • vacuum cleaners